The world's greatest Roleplaying game

The beginnings of a story

The history of Dungeons and Dragons, or "D&D", began several decades ago. In 1972, at Lake Geneva, in the United States of America, Gary Gygax and Jeff Perrin, after having created a medieval game together called Chainmail, decide to work on a module that will add fantasy to the mix. Gygax shows his work to a friend, Dave Arneson who works on adapting it to the universe of J.R.R. Tolkien. Arneson, in the fall of 1972, presents Gygax with his adaptation, who likes it so much that he begs his friend to send him the rules. Arneson sent him 18 handwritten pages of rules that he had imagined. Gygax reworked them and made them into a 50 pages brochure of complete rules that he began testing with his children.

Two years later, Arneson and Gygax finished compiling and reworking the rules of their new game. They call it: Dungeons and Dragons. Without knowing it at the time, their project revealed itself to be a revolution in the world of games.

Generations of players

In the nearly 50 years of D&D's creation, many generations of players have discovered the riches of roleplaying games through its existence. As time passed, the game grew: several new rule books where published, as well as adventure modules and worlds to discover, there were even different versions and editions of the rules.

 

During that time, Dungeons and Dragons was the victim of many controversies and accusations that lead the public to believe that role playing games lead to satanism, witchcraft and even murder. On top of this, the arrival of video games and consoles pushed role playing games to decline. TSR, the company who owned the game at the time, ended up being bought by Wizard's of the Coast who were in possession of the famous card game: Magic: The Gathering. Players who still stuck with Dungeons and Dragons then had to face stereotypes such as "geeks" or "nerds". 

Wizard's managed to create new versions of D&D, always more refined and complete, that made role playing more attractive to new players wanting to find alternatives to electronics. Little by little, the game was being refueled by its ashes and creating new fans all over the world. The 3.5 version, followed by Pathfinder from a competitor, pleased a large number of players, millions turned to role playing games as a source of creativity and to spend time with their friends.

IMG_5099_edited.png

Dungeons and dragons today

Role playing games have begun to sore since the release of the latest version of D&D, the 5th edition. Its success, coupled with the appearance of the game of social media, movies and series such as E.T., Stranger Things and The Big Bang Theory , have helped people learn about the game's existence.

 

In these past years, several web-series of people playing Dungeons and Dragons live in front of cameras have had a huge success. An example of this would be the famous adventures of Critical Role which recently raised over 11 million dollars through Kickstarter for the creation of an animated series based on their adventures. Many celebrities openly declare their love for role playing games. People want to spend time together and live extraordinary adventures that can exercise imagination and pass time. This is exactly what D&D has to offer. 

Today, over 13 million people play all over the world. Role playing games are utilized as therapeutic tools, team building activities, and even simply as the favorite activity among friends. The benefits of role playing are no longer questionable and it is becoming a pillar for games all around the world.

Le plus grand jeu de rôle du monde

Le début d'une histoire

L'histoire de Donjons et Dragons, ou "D&D", remonte à plusieurs dizaines d'années maintenant. En 1972, à Lake Geneva aux États-Unis d'Amérique, Gary Gygax et Jeff Perrin, après avoir créé un de jeu de combat médiéval appelé Chainmail, travaillent sur un module permettant d'ajouter un aspect fantastique aux règles. Gygax présente son travail à un ami, Dave Arneson qui se met tout de suite à l'adapter pour l'univers de J.R.R. Tolkien. Arneson, à l'automne 1972, montre à Gygax son adaptation, et ce dernier est tellement convaincu qu'il supplie son ami de lui envoyer ses règles. Arneson lui envoya alors 18 pages manuscrites d'un manuel qu'il avait écrit. Gygax les retravailla et les transforma en un fascicule de 50 pages de règles complètes qu'il commença à faire tester à ses enfants.

Deux ans plus tard, Arneson et Gygax ont fini de compiler et retravailler les règles du nouveau jeu qu'ils viennent de créer. Ils l'intitulent: Dungeons and Dragons. Sans le savoir alors, leur projet se révélera être une révolution mondiale dans l'univers du jeu.

Des générations de joueurs

Depuis les bientôt 50 ans d'existence de D&D, des générations de joueurs se sont succédés et ont découvert à leur tour la richesse du jeu de rôle. Au fil du temps, le jeu s'est étoffé: plusieurs nouveaux livres de règles, des aventures et des mondes à découvrir ainsi que de nouvelles versions sont parus.

 

Durant ce temps, Donjons et Dragons s'est retrouvé victime de controverses basées sur des accusations stipulant que le jeu de rôle pousserait les joueurs au satanisme, au meurtre et à la sorcellerie. En outre, l'arrivée des jeux vidéo et des consoles a poussé le jeu de rôle vers un déclin dont il était dur de se relever. TSR, l'entreprise à qui appartenait le jeu, finit par se faire racheter de justesse par Wizard's of the Coast qui possédaient alors le jeu de cartes: Magic: The Gathering. Les joueurs qui continuaient de s'accrocher à Donjons et Dragons avaient alors endossé de nombreux stéréotypes qui les rattachaient à une communauté de "geeks" enfermés chez eux à boire des bières en jouant à de vieux jeux dépassés. 

Wizard's a réussi à créer de nouvelles versions de D&D, toujours plus travaillées et poussées, qui rendirent le jeu plus attractif pour de nouvelles audiences avides d'autres solutions que le divertissement pas les écrans. Petit à petit, le jeu renaissait de ses cendres et se construisait de nouveaux fans partout dans le monde. La version 3.5, suivie par Pathfinder, a rallié énormément de joueurs, et des millions se sont alors tournés vers le jeu de rôle comme source de créativité et de moments de partage avec leurs amis. 

Donjons et Dragons aujourd'hui

Le jeu de rôle a commencé à prendre son envol notamment depuis la sortie de la dernière version du jeu; la 5e édition. Son succès, couplé à des apparition fréquentes dans de nombreux médias, comme le film E.T., la série Stranger Things et The Big Bang Theory par exemple, ont commencé à redorer l'image de D&D.

 

Ces dernières années, plusieurs web-séries de personnes jouant à Donjons et Dragons en se filmant ont connu un succès très important, comme notamment la très célèbre aventure de Critical Role qui a réuni plus de 11 millions de dollars de dons via Kickstarter pour la création d'une série animée de leurs aventures. De nombreuses personnalités annoncent ouvertement leur amour du jeu de rôle et son succès ne cesse de croître. Les gens veulent se retrouver et vivre des aventures qui ne nécessitent que leur imaginaire et un peu de temps, et c'est exactement ce qu'offre D&D. 

Aujourd'hui, plus de 13 millions de personnes jouent dans le monde. Le jeu de rôle est utilisé comme outil thérapeutique, comme technique d'analyse, comme activité de team building et simplement pour s'amuser entre amis. Les bienfaits ne sont plus remis en cause et le jeu de rôle promet de continuer de grandir pour devenir un pilier du jeu dans le monde.

Informations de contact:

Par e-mail: 

Par téléphone: 

+41 (0)78 841 11 47

  • Icône social Instagram
  • Twitter Icône sociale
  • Facebook Social Icône

Morrens VD, Suisse

Unknown Echoes is unofficial Fan Content permitted under the Fan Content Policy. Not approved/endorsed by Wizards. Portions of the materials used are property of Wizards of the Coast. ©Wizards of the Coast LLC

© 2020 Website created by Unknown Echoes.